Sonic Youth

Ciccone Youth - The Whitey Album CD


1. Needle-Gun
2. (Silence)
3. G-Force
4. Platoon II
5. Macbeth
6. Me & Jill/Hendrix Cosby
7. Burnin' Up
8. Hi! Everybody
9. Children of Satan/Third Fig
10. Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening to Neu
11. Addicted to Love
12. Moby-Dik
13. March of the Ciccone Robots
14. Making the Nature Scene
15. Tuff Titty Rap
16. Into the Groove(y)
17. Macbeth - (Alt. Mix)

Sonic Youth's seventh album sort of originated with a long-running band joke involving SY's claim to one day cover the Beatles' White Album in its entirety -- somehow this project morphed into a twisted beatbox/sampler experiment masquerading as a tribute to Madonna... SY even took Madonna's surname for their own, calling themselves "Ciccone Youth". The first Ciccone Youth single, featuring SY's version of "Into The Groovey" and Mike Watt's cover of "Burnin' Up" was initially released in 1986. Ciccone Youth unveiled themselves again on the "Master-Dik" EP, and decided to round out an entire album in late '87/early '88.

“...a dizzying collage of violently overhauled chart hits, sound sculpture mischief, experimental riff shrapnel and art-punk gags stitched together with deviant whimsy.”

David Fricke, Rolling Stone

You may also like

Recently viewed